TVP: Jade Little

When I first saw Jade Little’s lingerie designs I was blown away by the structure and futuristic lines. Vivid colours teamed up with wooden forms, and tailored detailing – it really is something to behold! Jade studied at De Montfort University and graduated with a BA Hons in Contour Fashion Design, her innovative graduate body wear collection has the versatility to be swimwear, lingerie or outerwear. With her work receiving high acclaim throughout the industry, I find out what she is working on now, and let her impart some pearls of wisdom.

Jade, you have been very busy for the last few years. Please tell us what you have been up to.

When I graduated I had a large amount of interest in my work. I decided that even though I would like to continue to create my own range, I wanted to gain some more experience within the industry. Since leaving university I was lucky enough to be taken on fairly quickly in to a job that I love. From doing many internships with brands that I liked, I was offered a job at Lascivious and have been there ever since.

Were you always interested in lingerie design, and what made you get into it?

I have always liked fashion and at first I thought about styling. Then I quickly realised that I could never find anything that I wanted or ideas that were in my head. So I decided to look into fashion design. Due to my personality, the fact I am a perfectionist and love anything intricate I decided that lingerie was the route for me.

So when you are working on your own designs, how do you work? What is your process?

My initial thoughts are…. what hasn’t been done before. Clearly this is pretty difficult as most things have been done, but there are always ways of improving and making it yours. My designs have always begin quite creative, show pieces. From here I then dilute them down into more wearable pieces that will frame and compliment the wearer. When a garment fits, accentuates that right places and makes the wearer feel amazing is when you know you have got something right.

Currently you work at Lascivious. What are the pros and cons of working for another designer?

Working at Lascivious is great. I get to be involved in all sides of a business from the design through the technical and on to the production. Obviously the downside would be if you didn’t have any input in the any of the designs, but I am very lucky to work where I do and get to have a lot of input.

What advice would you give someone trying to make it in the industry today?

Have a lot of dedication and drive. Make sure you are doing something that you love as you aren’t always going to get the positive feedback that you want, but when you do it really does make your day. Also the main thing would be to try and have something no one else does, you have to have a niche to stand out.

What has been the highlight of your career so far?

So far…it would have to be the feedback about my wooden corset. It has been a couple of years since I created that and I still get people recognising and loving it, even people from outside the fashion world. It is great when something you do gets such a positive reaction.

Where are you based?

At the moment I live in Surrey, it is close to my work and close enough for me to get in to central London when I need to.

What is your top romantic tip?

Surprise!

Visit: jadelittle.co.uk

Email: jadelittledesigns@hotmail.com

About TamarKendall

Editor of www.lingerie-stylist.com and stylist of intimates

Leave a comment