TVP: Christina Bonn Lux

I met Christina Wan at The Lingerie Collective earlier this month and got a sneak peek at some of her work so far (Christina has just graduated from De Montfort University). As she embarks on her journey as a lingerie designer, I ask Christina a few questions on what we can be expecting from her in the near future.

Were you always interested in lingerie design, and what made you get into it?

I took an interest in lingerie design when I met a contour student during my BTEC fashion course and was fascinated by the thought of making such intricate garments and all the tiny details that go along with it. I initially went off to uni to study fashion but glad I made the U-turn and took the lingerie route!

You have just graduated from De Montfort University, how has this helped you to hone your skills?

From first year it was very intensive; we were taught how to make bras and knickers from scratch, making a different sample each week. The course covered everything from bra grading and fitting to fashion illustration

What is currently your biggest inspiration from a design point of view?

I’ve always looked to interiors and photography for inspiration. On my most recent visit to the picturesque city of Paris, I visited Saint Ouen, the largest Parisian flea market, and absolutely loved trawling the streets full of antiques and bric-a-bracs.

You were recently chosen to exhibit at The Lingerie Collective, please tell us about the experience…

It was a real honour to have been chosen to be part of this prestigious event. Given that I design luxury lingerie, and use silks, Swarovski crystals and French lace in my designs, I was thrilled to be able to meet very relevant professionals to present my work to. I had lots of interest from boutiques and meeting some of the top buyers in lingerie was certainly the highlight! Kelly, the organiser of the event has been tremendously supportive and aside from giving us this great opportunity, there’s a lot more to come!

Do you have any advice for anyone interested in learning lingerie design?

Learning the construction is very important in designing as it determines whether your designs can be produced. Make sure you keep up to date with the industry, it’s not as cut-throat as fashion but you still have to fight hard to get noticed!

What are your plans for post college life and the future of your career?

Exhibiting at The Lingerie Collective has opened many opportunities for me which you will definitely hear more of soon! Right now, I am looking to gain some more experience working for a luxury design house in lingerie or eveningwear and doing freelance work on the side.

What is your top romantic tip?

I am very lucky that my boyfriend is a romantic! It’s all about the random post-it notes and unexpected surprises!

Please contact Christina at Christinabonnlux@gmail.com for press, orders or more info. You can also visit her blog: http://www.christinabonnlux.blogspot.com/

About TamarKendall

Editor of www.lingerie-stylist.com and stylist of intimates

One comment

  1. Pingback: TVP: Bianca Laporta « Lingerie Stylist

Leave a comment